Poetry of The Week: If I am caged, will I keep flying?

It’s not death that kills
But emptiness and meaninglessness

Being no longer able to cogitate freely;
Being jailed inside social trap of loyalty and harmony;
Being forced to close eyes wittingly;
Not knowing how to find God anymore as a sacred entity.

Landing as defeated body, being grabbed and skinned roughly;
Losing sight of tomorrow sunrise in the dawn and sky so high;
Hearing clapping hand, rumbling voices, for a victory without glory;
Looking for home, the vast sea with promises of the Day of no worry.

 

flying bird

 

If I do fly, will I be caged?

If I am caged, will I keep flying?

 

Yogyakarta, 11 April 2014

Leave a Reply

